Hypothermia issue?

Post your thoughts and ideas on safety here.
Magdalena

Hypothermia issue?

Post by Magdalena »

Hi all,

I woul like to share a concern with you before doing anything stupid.

I received the challenge to take a cold shower of 20 minutes to kick off a painsession.

Normally an endurance challenge is not something I walk away from. But were I live cold showers are really cold. The water is around 3 degrees Celsius and I never spent more than around 7 minutes underneath there.

So I need your advice on this, do it or DON'T?

Thanks!

Have fun!

Grts,

Magdalena
boundsissy

Re: Hypothermia issue?

Post by boundsissy »

Well don't give yourself a case of hypothermia, it is no fun going to a hospital for a session of pain. Just make the water uncomfortably cold, not killer cold.
LOVE TO ALL
lj

Post by lj »

I'd expect your core temperature to be lowered by that kind of exposure.

I've not had personal experience of hypothermia, but as an Expedition Instructor I have had to treat someone with it. The person concerned was on a training expedition in lowland England, wearing slightly inadequate clothing, but got very wet and spent about 10 minutes in strong wind (ideal hypothermia conditions) trying to put up a tent.

She became increasingly irrational. It is that part that would worry me, as if there is no-one else around, you might fail to take action.

Additionally, your body would be far less able to cope with any play, and I doubt you'd be in a mental state to enjoy it.

It also takes quite a while to recover as you can't re-heat someone quickly.

The idea of a cold shower before a caning or whipping is a well-known way of enhancing the pain, but we are talking of a few minutes. 20 minutes is likely to make the experience unpleasant, and not in a nice way.
be a switch, double the fun :-)
bound_jenny

Post by bound_jenny »