Stand-alone Arduino timer?

Post your thoughts and ideas on safety here.
Riddle

Stand-alone Arduino timer?

Post by Riddle »

As a sanity check, I would appreciate your inputs on using an Arduino as a timer for a stockade.  A clock IC can provide accurate time to Arduino and a MOSFET can translate the Arduino output to the electromagnets level.

So far, I am planning to use a 12V 3.6AH sealed lead battery for the main power and a USB cord for the Arduino power.  Right off the battery will be a small fuse (1 to 5 amp). Twin 12V 250mA solenoids control the stocks.

Is there any further precautions required to make this circuit reasonably safe?  Is further redundancy (if so, what degree?) necessary?  Am I missing a detail? 
Resident timer maker. :hi:
Let’s make timers together!
lj

Re: Stand-alone Arduino timer?

Post by lj »

Despite being an Electronics Engineer, I'm not familiar with the Arduino products, as I usually design at the microprocessor level. However, a quick glance at the data sheet suggests you should be able to use an on board timer to generate your timing intervals with considerable accuracy. There are several counter/timers on the chip so perhaps these are available to use as time-keepers ?

As you are proposing to use a 3.6AH battery, and you suggest the solenoid load is 2 x 250mA, that give a theoretical battery life of 7 hours, a sensible precaution and one I always recommend for electrically operated SB machines. HOWEVER this only applies if the locking mechanism is held locked by the supplied current, and always releases when the power is disconnected or the battery runs flat. Any mechanism that works in the opposite sense is inherently dangerous.

I'd suggest a 1amp anti-surge fuse, as there may be an inrush current when the solenoids are energised, and don't forget to put a "back-protection" diode across the solenoid coils - most MOSFETs can cope, but better safe than sorry.