Unexpected Padlock Failure

Post your thoughts and ideas on safety here.
Knotty4U

Unexpected Padlock Failure

Post by Knotty4U »

I have a Master Lock padlock that I use for various SB activities. I've never thought of it as being particularly cheap - if anything I have always thought of it as heavy duty. Today I used it for a purpose that involved no physical restraint and when I went to release the lock, the key barrel had failed! Not the key mind you, but the actual barrel that the key inserts into. Don't know how it happened, but it doesn't really matter. Rather sobering if one stops to consider the consequences had it actually been used for physical restraint. No back up in the world would have helped out.

I would have NEVER considered this a possibility - now I know better. I've never seen anything like this in my life before, and I've used a padlock or two in my nearly half century of life :wink: . I guess the moral is always expect the unexpected.
Kronopticon

Re: Unexpected Padlock Failure

Post by Kronopticon »

everything is subject to wear and tear and over time, things wont be as prescribed, i buy new padlocks every 6 months or so, i've had this happen before, while i was wearing them, and it just needed a bit of fiddling for a minute, turning and re-turning the key, moving it any which way to get it to move, and as you can see, im still here :)
http://fetlife.com/users/209924 <- My Fetlife Page
"If you're enjoying it, that means you're doing it right."
bound_jenny

Post by bound_jenny »

This is somewhat disconcerting, sobering, especially since I also considered Master as a reputable brand (it's also pretty dominating... :wink: ). I suppose that they too, are subject to market pressures and must reduce costs by assembling their locks in cheap labor farms and drastically reducing quality control checks on both parts and the finished product.

But, if one keeps all things in perspective, this kind of failure is highly unlikely.

Jenny.