3G network shutting down for AT&T in 2022?

Anything that does not fit any of the other categories.
Shannon SteelSlave

3G network shutting down for AT&T in 2022?

Post by Shannon SteelSlave »

Sorry peeps, hate to post too much non-bondage stuff, but I need help. I have a 3G phone, and my cell provider just sent me a message that I need to upgrade. The thing is I don't wanna! :cry: I don't have time fah' 'dis! I have been using my keyboard phone for 12 years and just bought a refurbished version of it to carry me further.I am so slow on the uptake of technology and buzz words, I once thought an iPod Mini was an electric English car! My previous phone had a rotary dial and rabbit ears antenna. I used to be able to call a telephone number by whistling the digits like Joy Bubbles.
Ok, sorry for dumping on you, and reverting to my thick New England accent. I am a realist, and knew this day would come. Part of my reason for staying with my old cellular tele was privacy. I figured it had less tracking ability being such an obsolete device. I have thought of getting a "burner" prepaid. What would you do if you were in this mess? Can I just cram a 4G or 5G Sim card in there? Pretty handy with a soldering iron. Do I have 2 years to figure something out? 'Cause I am just way too busy right now.
Thanks for your help, my friends. Especially for listening to my gripes.
Bondage is like a foreign film without subtitles. Only through sharing and practice can we hope to understand.
A Jedi uses bondage for knowledge and defense, never for attack.
I am so smart! I am so smart! S-M-R-T!....I, I mean S-M-A-R-T!
👠👠
Gregovic

Re: 3G network shutting down for AT&T in 2022?

Post by Gregovic »

What type of phone do you have? Unfortunately the differences between 3G and 4G mean that it's not just a matter of putting in a different sim card. There's differences in the radio protocols used that mean you really need a different modem chip, which is unlikely to be retrofittable.